Home Page

National Curriculum Overview



The national curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages.


All local-authority-maintained schools in England must teach these programmes of study.


The majority of this national curriculum was introduced in September 2014, with English and maths coming into force for all year groups from September 2016.

The exception is the science curriculum which came into force for year 10 pupils in September 2016, and applies to year 11 pupils from September 2017.

See the National Archives website for information about the pre-2014 primary and secondary curriculums.

  • Citrine 55,332
  • Emerald 60,977
  • Ruby 59,140
  • Sapphire 57,152